# **VOTING REGISTER FOR THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING ON 13 OCTOBER 2012**

# CONSOLIDATED VERSION INCORPORATING AMENDMENTS YET TO BE APPROVED BY THE BOARD AND INDICATING PROXIES

Those receiving proxies have been abbreviated as follows.

AH – Alex Holowczak

AJG – Jon Griffith

APF – Andrew Farthing

BE – Ben Edgell

CEM – Chris Majer

DGC – Dave Clayton

DRT – Dave Thomas

JAP – John Philpott

MCT – Mike Truran

MJG – Mike Gunn

PE – Phil Ehr

RK – R Kearns

SR – Stewart Reuben

WM – William Metcalfe

DWA – David Anderton

### **Articles 5.1: Constituent Units**

East Anglian Chess Union 1 John Wickham London Chess League 7 Brian Smith (proxy SR) Manchester Chess Federation Mohammed Amin 3 Midland Counties Chess Union 2 **Andrew Farthing** Northern Counties Chess Union William Metcalfe 1 Southern Counties Chess Union 3 David Howes (Directed proxy) 2 West of England Chess Union Roger Hardy

Total: 19 votes between 7 constituent units.

#### Articles 5.5: Other Organisations

1	William Armstrong
1	Nigel Dennis
1	Keith Escott
2	Alex Holowczak
1	Neville Belinfante
1	David Sedgwick
1	Christopher Kreuzer
1	Nigel Dennis
1	Nigel Dennis
1	John Philpott
	1 1 2 1 1 1 1 1

Total: 11 votes between 10 other organisations.

## Articles 5.2: County Associations

Atticles 5.2. County Associations		
Bedfordshire	1	Brian Valentine
Berkshire	1	Nigel Dennis
Buckinghamshire	1	Neville Belinfante
Cambridgeshire	1	Marcus Misson
Cheshire & North Wales	1	<b>Graham Bromley (Directed proxy)</b>
Cleveland	2	William Metcalfe
Cornwall	1	(to be confirmed)
Cumbria	1	Dave Cole (Proxy WM)
Derbyshire	2	Simon Gilmore
Devon	1	Alan Maynard
Dorset	1	Ian Clark (Directed proxy)
Durham	2	William Metcalfe
Essex	3	David Smith
Gloucestershire	1	Chris Mattos
Hampshire	1	John F Wheeler (Proxy BE)
Hertfordshire	4	Malcolm Harding (Proxy RK)
Kent	3	Richard Haddrell
Lancashire	2	Bill O'Rourke ( <b>Proxy DGC</b> )
Leicestershire & Rutland	4	Sean Hewitt (Proxy MCT)
Lincolnshire	1	Peter Sherlock
Merseyside	4	David Welch
Middlesex	3	Adam Raoof (Proxy JAP)
Norfolk	3	John Wickham (Proxy APF)
Northamptonshire	1	Chris Gibson
Northumberland	3	John D Wheeler (Proxy WM)
Nottinghamshire	4	Robert Richmond
Oxfordshire	3	Mike Truran
Shropshire	3	Nicholas Rutter
Somerset	2	Ben Edgell
Staffordshire	1	Andrew Leadbetter
Suffolk	1	Tim Lunn
Surrey	2	Mike Gunn
Sussex	1	Julie Denton
Warwickshire	1	Gordon Christie (Proxy DRT)
Wiltshire	1	(to be confirmed)
XX7 . 1 *	1	A 1 15 (1)

Andrew Farthing

Jon Griffith

1

2

Total: 69 votes between 37 counties.

Worcestershire

Yorkshire

## Articles 5.3: Member Leagues

4NCL	7	Mike Truran
Birmingham & District	7	David Thomas
Blackpool & Fylde	1	Philip Raynor
Bournemouth & District	2	Ian Clark ( <b>Directed proxy</b> )
Bristol & District	4	Ben Edgell
Cannock & District	1	Andrew Leadbetter
Central Lancashire	1	Bill O'Rourke ( <b>Proxy DGC</b> )
Chester & District	1	Patrick Ridley ( <b>Directed proxy</b> )
Chiltern	1	Nigel Dennis
Combined Banks & Insurance	1	John Skipworth
Coventry & District	2	Sean Hewitt ( <b>Proxy MCT</b> )
Croydon & District	1	Angus French
Darlington & District	1	Pete McKay (Directed proxy)
Dudley & District	1	Alex Holowczak
Hammersmith & District	1	Michael Mackenzie
Hertford & District	1	Matthew Read (Proxy DRS)
Insurance	1	` •
Lancaster & Morecambe	1	John Philpott Lawrence Bland
	3	
Leamington & District Leeds	3	Gordon Christie (Proxy DRT)  Stuart Labraga (Proxy A IC)
		Stuart Johnson ( <b>Proxy AJG</b> )
London Banks	1	John Skipworth
London Civil Service, PO & Municipal Mid-Sussex	2 2	Richard Fries ( <b>Proxy MJG</b> )
		Doug Stevenson
North Circular	1	Gary Cook ( <b>Proxy MJG</b> )
North Essex	2	David Millward
North Gloucestershire	2	Nigel Hosken
North Staffordshire	3	Andrew Leadbetter
Portsmouth & District	1	Christopher Priest ( <b>Proxy BE</b> )
Southampton	2	Malcolm Clarke (Directed proxy)
Southend & District	2	Howard Grist ( <b>Proxy CEM</b> )
South Tyne	1	Dave Cole (Proxy WM)
Stockport	2	Sean Hewitt (Proxy MCT)
Surrey Border	2	Mike Gunn
Thames Valley	3	Nigel Dennis
Thanet	1	John Clarke
Torbay	1	John Doidge
Warrington & District	1	Bill O'Rourke ( <b>Proxy DGC</b> )
Wirral	1	David Farley
Wolverhampton & District	3	Andrew Leadbetter
Worcester & District	1	Maurice Bissell

Total: 53 votes between 39 leagues.

## Articles 5.4: Member Congresses

Atherton Rapidplay

	_	
Atkins Memorial	1	Sean Hewitt (Proxy MCT)
Berks & Bucks	1	Nigel Dennis
Bolton Easter	1	Harry Lamb
British Rapidplay	2	Brent Kitson (Proxy AJG)
Bury Rapidplay	1	Mohammed Amin
Coulsdon Fellowship	4	Scott Freeman
Crowborough Rapidplay	1	Donald Grant
Doncaster	1	Trevor Taylor
e2e4	8	Sean Hewitt (Proxy MCT)
East Devon	1	Alan Maynard
Frome	1	Gerry Jepps
Gibraltar Masters	4	Stewart Reuben
Golders Green	4	Adam Raoof (Proxy JAP)
Hastings International	3	David Welch
Heywood	1	Bill O'Rourke ( <b>Proxy DGC</b> )
Kent Junior Chess Association	1	Richard Haddrell
Kidlington	1	Mike Truran
Leek	1	William Armstrong
Leyland	1	David Clayton
London Classic	5	David Sedgwick
London Junior	3	Neville Belinfante
London Team Rapidplay	1	John Sargent (Proxy AH)
National Chess Junior Squad	1	Neville Belinfante
Northumbria Junior	1	Lara Barnes
Preston	1	Malcolm Peacock
Rhyl	1	Stuart Hamilton
Royal Beacon Seniors	1	Bob Jones
Scarborough	2	Alex McFarlane
South Hertfordshire	1	Ray Claret ( <b>Proxy CEM</b> )
South Lakes	1	Dave Cole ( <b>Proxy WM</b> )
Southend Easter	1	Howard Grist (Proxy CEM)
Stockport Rapidplay	1	Peter Taylor ( <b>Directed proxy</b> )
Surrey Congress	1	Mike Gunn
Teignmouth Rapidplay	1	Raymond Chubb
Wiltshire Junior Chess	1	Bev Schofield
York	1	Neville Pearce

1

Geoff Jones

Total: 63 votes between 37 congresses.

#### Articles 5.13: Representatives of Direct Members

One vote per representative; two representatives per category.

Vice-Presidents Stewart Reuben Chris Majer

Full Members (Gold) William Armstrong Peter J B Wilson (**Proxy APF**)

Standard and Junior (Silver) Daniel Staples Robert Thompson

Basic and Junior Basic (Bronze) John Charman (vacant)

Total: 7 votes between 7 representatives; 1 vacancy.

### Articles 5.6, 5.7 and 5.8: Officers

One vote per Officer

President (vacant)

Chief ExecutiveAndrew FarthingNon-Executive ChairmanMike GunnDirector of FinanceGareth Caller

Director of Home Chess

Adam Raoof (**Proxy AH**)

Director of International Chess

Sean Hewitt (**Proxy MCT**)

Director of Junior Chess & Education Phil Ehr

Director of Marketing

Non-Executive Director

Non-Executive Director

FIDE Delegate

Tim Woolgar (Proxy PE)

John Wickham (Proxy AF)

Jack Rudd (Proxy AH)

Nigel Short (Proxy DWA)

Chairman of the Governance Committee John Philpott Chairman of the Finance Committee Mike Truran

Total: 12 votes between 12 Officers; 1 vacancy.

Articles 5.9: Trustees
One vote per Trustee

Ray B. Edwards Julian Farrand

Keith B. Richardson

Total: 3 votes between 3 trustees.

#### Articles 5.11, 5.12 and 5.13: Immediate Past Officers

One vote per immediate past Officer

Immediate Past President Gerry Walsh (**Proxy DW**)

Immediate Past Chief Executive Officer Chris Majer Immediate Past Non-Executive Chairman John Paines

Total: 3 votes between 3 immediate past Officers.

**Grand Total: 262 votes**