VOTING REGISTER FOR THE FINANCE COUNCIL MEETING ON 13 APRIL 2013

This is the first register that I have prepared following my appointment by the Board as voting register officer last autumn. In the past the primary source for the register used to be Game Fee payments received, but with an ever increasing proportion of results not triggering a Game Fee payment as a result of membership, my primary emphasis has been on identifying the level of activity in an event from two main sources:

- (1) Data on results submitted to the grading system for the full 2011/12 grading year and for the first half of the 2012/13 grading season.
- (2) Information about an event obtained directly from that event's website.

While (1) is generally adequate for congresses, I placed significance reliance on (2) for winter leagues (fortunately, almost every league now has a web presence). For leagues organised by the increasing number of membership organisations signing framework agreements, residual Game Fee payments are not due until these are invoiced at the end of the season. While other winter leagues should under the Bye Laws have made an estimated Game Fee payment by 15 January, a number have not done so on the grounds that the players generating results who are not currently ECF members are expected to have joined by the end of the season. As this contention cannot be disproved at this stage, it will be accepted this time around, and the organisations in question not treated as being in arrears with their membership fees, but depending upon what the situation turns out to be at the end of the season, such a charitable interpretation will not necessarily be adopted next year.

If there are any queries on the register, please contact me at vro@englishchess.org.uk I will maintain an addendum on the website indicating agreed changes and whether these are subject to the approval of the Board (any such events will be indicated by a *: the only such instance on the present list is the Briant Poulter League, which has recently applied for membership). Once the deadline for the return of attendance forms has passed, I will also arrange for a consolidated list indicating proxies to be published.

John Philpott Voting Register Officer

Articles 5.1: Constituent Units

East Anglian Chess Union 1 John Wickham Brian Smith London Chess League 7 Manchester Chess Federation 4 Mohammed Amin Midland Counties Chess Union 2 **Andrew Farthing** Northern Counties Chess Union 1 William Metcalfe 3 Southern Counties Chess Union **David Howes** West of England Chess Union 2 Roger Hardy

Total: 20 votes between 7 constituent units.

Articles 5.5: Other Organisations

Braille Chess Association British Chess Problem Society British Federation for Correspondence Chess British Universities' Chess Association Chess Arbiters' Association English Deaf Chess Association English Primary Schools Chess Association	1 1 1 1 1 1	William Armstrong Nigel Dennis Keith Escott Alex Holowczak Neville Belinfante Alasdair MacLeod Nigel Dennis
English Primary Schools Chess Association National Youth Chess Association	1 1	Nigel Dennis
The Friends of Chess	1	David Smith

Total: 9 votes between 9 other organisations.

Articles 5.2: County Associations

Yorkshire 3 Jon Griffith

Total: 80 votes between 37 counties.

Articles 5.3: Member Leagues

4NCL 7 Mike Truran Birmingham & District 7 **David Thomas** 1 Blackpool & Fylde Philip Raynor 2 Bournemouth & District Ian Clark 2 Briant Poulter Chess League* Neill Cooper 5 **Bristol & District** Ben Edgell Cannock & District 1 **Andrew Leadbetter** 1 Bill O'Rourke Central Lancashire Chester & District 2 Patrick Ridley 2 Chiltern Nigel Dennis Combined Banks & Insurance 1 John Skipworth 2 Coventry & District Sean Hewitt Croydon & District 1 **Angus French** 1 Darlington & District Pete McKay **Dudley & District** 1 Alex Holowczak Hammersmith & District Michael Mackenzie Hertford & District 1 Matthew Read 1 John Philpott Insurance 1 Lancaster & Morecambe Lawrence Bland Leamington & District 3 Gordon Christie 3 Leeds Stuart Johnson 1 London Banks John Skipworth 2 London Civil Service, PO & Municipal Richard Fries Mid-Sussex 2 Doug Stevenson 1 North Circular Gary Cook 2 North Essex **David Millward** 2 North Gloucestershire Nigel Hosken 3 North Staffordshire **Andrew Leadbetter** 2 Portsmouth & District **Christopher Priest** 2 Malcolm Clarke Southampton 2 **Howard Grist** Southend & District 1 South Tyne **Dave Cole** 2 Stockport Sean Hewitt 2 Surrey Border Mike Gunn 3 Thames Valley Nigel Dennis 2 Thanet John Clarke 1 Torbay Ben Edgell Warrington & District 2 Bill O'Rourke 2 David Farley 3 Wolverhampton & District Andrew Leadbetter Worcester & District Maurice Bissell

Total: 84 votes between 41 leagues.

Articles 5.4: Member Congresses

1 **Geoff Jones** Atherton Rapidplay Atkins Memorial 1 Sean Hewitt Berks & Bucks 1 Nigel Dennis Birmingham FIDE-rated 1 Alex Holowczak **Bolton Easter** 1 Harry Lamb 1 Alex Holowczak British Blitz British Rapidplay 2 **Brent Kitson** Bury Rapidplay 1 Mohammed Amin Coulsdon Fellowship 4 Scott Freeman Crowborough Rapidplay 1 **Donald Grant** Doncaster 1 **Trevor Taylor** 8 Sean Hewitt e2e4 East Devon 1 Alan Maynard Frome 1 Gerry Jepps Stewart Reuben Gibraltar Masters 4 4 Golders Green Adam Raoof Hastings International 2 David Welch 1 Bill O'Rourke Heywood Kent Junior Chess Association 1 Richard Haddrell Kidlington 1 Mike Truran Leek 1 William Armstrong Levland 1 **David Clayton** London Classic 5 **David Sedgwick** 4 Neville Belinfante **London Junior** London Team Rapidplay 1 John Sargent National Chess Junior Squad 1 Neville Belinfante Northumbria Junior 1 Lara Barnes Preston 1 Malcolm Peacock 1 Stuart Hamilton Rhyl Royal Beacon Seniors 1 **Bob Jones** 2 Scarborough Alex McFarlane South Hertfordshire 1 Ray Claret 1 South Lakes **Dave Cole** 1 Southend Easter **Howard Grist** Stockport Rapidplay 1 Peter Taylor **Surrey Congress** 1 Mike Gunn Teignmouth Rapidplay Raymond Chubb 1 Wiltshire Junior Chess 1 Bev Schofield York 1 **Neville Pearce**

Total: 65 votes between 39 congresses.

Articles 5.13: Representatives of Direct Members

One vote per representative; two representatives per category.

Vice-PresidentsStewart ReubenChris MajerPlatinum MembersJohn WickhamPeter WilsonGold MembersWilliam ArmstrongRobert Thompson

Silver Members (Vacant) (Vacant) Bronze members (Vacant) (Vacant)

Total: 6 votes between 6 representatives; 4 vacancies.

Articles 5.6, 5.7 and 5.8: Officers

One vote per Officer

President Roger Edwards

Chief ExecutiveVacantNon-Executive ChairmanMike GunnDirector of FinanceChris MattosDirector of Home ChessAlex HolowczakDirector of International ChessDavid Openshaw

Director of Junior Chess & Education

Director of Marketing

Non-Executive Director

Non-Executive Director

FIDE Delegate

Chairman of the Governance Committee

Chairman of the Finance Committee

Director

Sean Hewitt

Jack Rudd

Nigel Short

Chris Majer

Mike Truran

Total: 11 votes between 11 Officers; 2 vacancies.

Articles 5.9: Trustees
One vote per Trustee

Ray Edwards Julian Farrand Keith Richardson

Total: 3 votes between 3 trustees.

Articles 5.11, 5.12 and 5.13: Immediate Past Officers

One vote per immediate past Officer

Immediate Past PresidentC J de MooiImmediate Past Chief Executive OfficerAndrew FarthingImmediate Past Non-Executive ChairmanJohn Paines

Total: 3 votes between 3 immediate past Officers.

Grand Total: 281 votes