VOTING REGISTER FOR THE FINANCE COUNCIL MEETING ON 13 APRIL 2013

CONSOLIDATED VERSION WITH AMENDMENTS AND PROXIES

This version of the register incorporates all amendments advised to the voting register officer.

A * indicates that the organisation's vote is contingent upon its being admitted to membership by the Board.

The following initials have been used to indicate the holders of proxies:

MA Mohammed Amin **CP Chris Priest** MC Malcolm Christie SR Stewart Reuben JD Julie Denning PR Patrick Ridley DRS David Sedgwick **RJE Roger Edwards BG** Brian Gaze JW John Wickham AH Alex Holowczak DW David Welch JAP John Philpott

Articles 5.1: Constituent Units

East Anglian Chess Union John Wickham 1 London Chess League Brian Smith (proxy to JAP) 7 Manchester Chess Federation Mohammed Amin 4 Midland Counties Chess Union 2 Andrew Farthing (proxy to AH) Northern Counties Chess Union 1 William Metcalfe 3 Southern Counties Chess Union David Howes (proxy to JD) 2 Roger Hardy West of England Chess Union

Total: 20 votes between 7 constituent units.

Articles 5.5: Other Organisations

Barnstaple Chess Club Jack Rudd 1 **Braille Chess Association** William Armstrong 1 **British Chess Problem Society** Nigel Dennis 1 British Federation for Correspondence Chess Keith Escott 1 British Universities' Chess Association 1 Alex Holowczak Chess Arbiters' Association 1 Neville Belinfante Alasdair MacLeod English Deaf Chess Association 1 English Primary Schools Chess Association 1 Nigel Dennis National Youth Chess Association 1 Nigel Dennis

The Friends of Chess 1 David Smith (proxy to JAP)

Total: 10 votes between 10 other organisations.

Articles 5.2: County Associations

Brian Valentine (proxy to JW) Bedfordshire 1 Berkshire 2 Nigel Dennis 2 Neville Belinfante Buckinghamshire Cambridgeshire 1 Marcus Misson Cheshire & North Wales 1 Graham Bromley (proxy to PR) 2 Cleveland William Metcalfe 1 Ian George Cornwall Dave Cole (proxy to DW) Cumbria 1 2 Simon Gilmore Derbyshire 1 Ben Edgell Devon Dorset 1 Ian Clark 2 Durham William Metcalfe 3 Essex David Smith (proxy to BG) Gloucestershire 1 **Chris Mattos** John F Wheeler (proxy to CP) Hampshire 1 Herefordshire 1 Alan Leary Hertfordshire 5 Malcolm Harding 3 Richard Haddrell Kent 2 Lancashire Bill O'Rourke Leicestershire & Rutland 4 Sean Hewitt 2 Peter Sherlock Lincolnshire 4 Merseyside David Welch Middlesex 3 Adam Raoof (proxy to DRS) 4 Norfolk John Wickham 2 Northamptonshire Chris Gibson (proxy to SH) Northumberland 3 John D Wheeler 4 Nottinghamshire Robert Richmond 3 Oxfordshire Mike Truran (proxy to DW) 3 Shropshire Nicholas Rutter 2 Somerset Ben Edgell 1 Staffordshire **Andrew Leadbetter** 2 Suffolk Bob L Jones (directed proxy) 3 Mike Gunn (proxy to RJE) Surrey Sussex 1 Julie Denning

1

1

2

3

Gordon Christie

Jon Griffith

Bev Schofield (proxy to BE)

Andrew Farthing (proxy to AH)

Total: 81 votes between 38 counties.

Warwickshire

Worcestershire

Wiltshire

Yorkshire

Articles 5.3: Member Leagues

4NCL	7	Mike Truran (proxy to DW)
Birmingham & District	7	David Thomas (proxy to MC)
Blackpool & Fylde	1	Philip Raynor
Bournemouth & District	2	lan Clark
Briant Poulter Chess League*	2	Neill Cooper (apologies)
Bristol & District	5	Ben Edgell
Cannock & District	1	Andrew Leadbetter
Central Lancashire	1	Bill O'Rourke
Chester & District	2	Patrick Ridley
Chiltern	2	Nigel Dennis
Combined Banks & Insurance	1	John Skipworth
Coventry & District	2	Sean Hewitt
Croydon & District	1	Angus French
Darlington & District	1	Pete McKay
Dudley & District	1	Alex Holowczak
Hammersmith & District	1	Michael Mackenzie
Hertford & District	1	Matthew Read
Insurance	1	John Philpott
Lancaster & Morecambe	1	Lawrence Bland
Leamington & District	3	Gordon Christie
Leeds	3	Stuart Johnson
London Banks	1	John Skipworth
London Civil Service, PO & Municipal	2	Richard Fries (proxy to chair)
Mid-Sussex	2	Doug Stevenson
North Circular	1	Gary Cook
North Essex	2	David Millward
North Gloucestershire	2	Nigel Hosken
North Staffordshire	3	Andrew Leadbetter
Portsmouth & District	2	Christopher Priest
Southampton	2	Malcolm Clarke (directed proxy)
Southend & District	2	Howard Grist
South Tyne	1	Dave Cole (proxy to DW)
Stockport	2	Sean Hewitt
Surrey Border	2	Mike Gunn (proxy to RJE)
Thames Valley	3	Nigel Dennis
Thanet	2	John Clarke
Torbay	1	Ben Edgell
Warrington & District	2	Bill O'Rourke
Wirral	2	David Farley
Wolverhampton & District	3	Andrew Leadbetter
Maraaatar O District	4	Maurice Discell

Maurice Bissell

Total: 84 votes between 41 leagues.

Wolverhampton & District Worcester & District

Articles 5.4: Member Congresses

Geoff Jones Atherton Rapidplay 1 Atkins Memorial 1 Sean Hewitt Berks & Bucks 1 Nigel Dennis Birmingham FIDE-rated 1 Alex Holowczak Birmingham Blitz 1 Alex Holowczak 1 **Bolton Easter**

Harry Lamb (proxy to MA) British Rapidplay 2 Brent Kitson Bury Rapidplay 1 Mohammed Amin Coulsdon Fellowship 4 Scott Freeman Crowborough Rapidplay 1 **Donald Grant** Doncaster 1 **Trevor Taylor**

Doncaster 1 Trevor Taylor
e2e4 8 Sean Hewitt
East Devon 1 Alan Maynard
Frome 1 Gerry Jepps
Gibraltar Masters 4 Stewart Reuben

Golders Green 4 Adam Raoof (proxy to DRS)
Hampstead * 1 Adam Raoof (proxy to DRS)

Hastings International 2 David Welch
Heywood 1 Bill O'Rourke
Kent Junior Chess Association 1 Richard Haddrell

Kidlington 1 Mike Truran (proxy to DW)

Leek 1 William Armstrong

Leyland 1 David Clayton (proxy to PE)

London Chess Classic 5 David Sedgwick London Junior 4 Neville Belinfante

London Team Rapidplay

1 John Sargent (proxy to AH)
National Chess Junior Squad

1 Marc Shaw (proxy to NB)
Northumbria Junior

1 Lara Barnes (proxy to DW)

Preston 1 Malcolm Peacock (directed proxy)

Rhyl 1 Stuart Hamilton Royal Beacon Seniors 1 Bob H Jones

Scarborough 2 Alex McFarlane (proxy to DW)

South Hertfordshire 1 Ray Claret

South Lakes 1 Dave Cole (proxy to DW)

Southend Easter 1 Howard Grist Stockport Rapidplay 1 Peter Taylor

Surrey Congress 1 Mike Gunn (proxy to RJE)

Teignmouth Rapidplay 1 Raymond Chubb

Wiltshire Junior Chess
1 Bev Schofield (proxy to BE)
York
1 Neville Pearce (proxy to chair)

Total: 65 votes between 39 congresses.

Articles 5.13: Representatives of Direct Members

One vote per representative; two representatives per category.

Vice-Presidents Stewart Reuben Chris Majer

Platinum Members John Wickham Peter Wilson (proxy to SR)
Gold Members William Armstrong Robert Thompson (proxy to AH)

Silver Members (Vacant) (Vacant)
Bronze members (Vacant) (Vacant)

Total: 6 votes between 6 representatives; 4 vacancies.

Articles 5.6, 5.7 and 5.8: Officers

One vote per Officer

President Roger Edwards

Chief Executive Vacant

Non-Executive Chairman Mike Gunn (proxy to RJE)

Director of Finance Chris Mattos
Director of Home Chess Alex Holowczak
Director of International Chess David Openshaw

Director of Junior Chess & Education Phil Ehr
Director of Marketing Vacant
Non-Executive Director Sean Hewitt
Non-Executive Director Jack Rudd

FIDE Delegate Nigel Short (proxy to AH)

Chairman of the Governance Committee Chris Majer

Chairman of the Finance Committee Mike Truran (Proxy to DW)

Total: 11 votes between 11 Officers; 2 vacancies.

Articles 5.9: Trustees
One vote per Trustee

Ray Edwards (apologies) Julian Farrand Keith Richardson

Total: 3 votes between 3 trustees.

Articles 5.11, 5.12 and 5.13: Immediate Past Officers

One vote per immediate past Officer

Immediate Past President C J de Mooi

Immediate Past Chief Executive Officer Andrew Farthing (proxy to AH)

Immediate Past Non-Executive Chairman John Paines

Total: 3 votes between 3 immediate past Officers.

Grand Total: 283 votes