# ENGLISH CHESS FEDERATION ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 11 OCTOBER 2014

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that a meeting of the Council will be held at the Malmaison Hotel, 1 Wharfside Street, Birmingham B1 2JR on Saturday 11 October 2014 starting at 1:30 p.m.

The Procedural Bye Laws prescribe that the Chairman of the meeting shall seek to end the meeting by 6:00 p.m.; but it may be extended to 6:30 p.m. if Members wish. Further extensions can be made if Council votes to suspend the Bye Laws.

The meeting is convened by John Philpott, Company Secretary, on the instruction of the Board. This Agenda is issued from the English Chess Federation Office (The Watch Oak, Chain Lane, Battle, East Sussex TN33 0YD) on Thursday 18 September 2014.

Members considering the appointment of a proxy or a directed proxy to the Chairman are directed to the relevant enclosure and should note that **deadlines apply to the receipt of proxies.** Any organisation wishing to change its Representative Member should note that it must do so before 1:30 p.m. on Wednesday 8 October 2014.

A full set of supporting documents can be found on the ECF website at http://www.englishchess.org.uk/?page\_id=897. Should you require to be mailed a paper copy of the documentation please contact the ECF Office

Documents have been annotated on the agenda with a \* where the paper was available for downloading on 2 October 2014 and a # where the paper will be available for downloading later or will be tabled at the meeting.

## **British Chess Federation Annual Council Meeting**

The Annual Council Meeting of the British Chess Federation will take place during the afternoon adjournment of the English Chess Federation Annual General Meeting. The agenda for the BCF meeting is being sent to the members of the BCF Council (effectively the ECF Officers, Constituent Units and County Associations), and only these members are entitled to vote at this meeting. However, all members of the ECF Council who are not also members of the BCF Council are welcome to be in attendance. Papers for the BCF Council meeting can also be downloaded from the website at the same URL.

## **AGENDA (VERSION 2)**

1	<b>Appoin</b>	tment c	of Chai	rman
1.	Appoili	unenc	JI GIIAI	HHIAH

The Board will recommend the appointment of Julie Denning

- 2. Location of Attendance, Apologies and Proxy Lists
- 3. To note the Voting Register and any amendments thereto \*
- 4. The appointment of Tellers
- 5. To approve the Minutes of the Finance Council Meeting of 12 April 2014 \*

The Chairman will only consider amendments that are notified to the ECF Office at least 48 hours before the start of the meeting

- 6. Matters arising from these minutes
  - 6.1 Terms of reference of the Independent Constitutional and Governance Review Committee \*
  - 6.2 Relations with FIDE \*
  - 6.3 Charitable status
  - 6.4 Other items
- 7. To receive and approve the Reports:
  - 7.1 Chief Executive's Report \*

**Phil Ehr** 

## 7.2 Director of Finance's Report \*

**David Eustace** 

The accounts for the year ended 31 August 2014 will be presented to the April 2015 Finance Council meeting

- 7.3 To receive and approve Other Directors' Reports
  - 7.3.1 Director of Home Chess \*

**Alex Holowczak** 

7.3.2 Director of Junior Chess and Education \*

**Lawrence Cooper** 

7.3.3 Director of International Chess \*

**David Openshaw** 

7.3.4 Director of Membership \*

**David Thomas** 

7.3.5 Commercial Director \*

**Bob Kane** 

- 7.3.6 Non-Executive Directors:
- 7.3.6.1 Julian Clissold \*
- **7.3.6.2 Angus French #**
- **7.3.6.3 Sean Hewitt #** [Note: Mr Hewitt resigned as a Director on 3 April 2014]
- 7.4 To receive and approve Other Officers' Reports

7.4.1 FIDE Delegate \*

**Nigel Short** 

7.4.2 Chairman of the Governance Committee \*

Chris Majer

7.4.3 Chairman of the Finance Committee \*

Mike Truran

### 8. To pass a vote of thanks to the outgoing Officers

# 9. To note changes to Regulation No. 2 The Directors and Officers Responsibilities Regulations \*

## 10. Elections and Appointments

#### 10.1 President

**Dominic Lawson** nominated by the Board and David Sedgwick (Chess in Schools and Communities) \*

#### 10.2 Chief Executive

Phil Ehr standing for re-election \*

## 10.3 Director of Finance

David Eustace standing for re-election \*

#### 10.4 Two Non-Executive Directors

Laurence Ball nominated by Lawrence Cooper (Director) and Phil Ehr (Director) \*
Julian Clissold standing for re-election \*
John Foley nominated by Bob Kane (Director) and David Sedgwick (Chess in Schools

## 10.5 Other Executive Directors:

and Communities) \*

#### 10.5.1 Director of Home Chess

Alex Holowczak standing for re-election\*

#### 10.5.2 Director of Junior Chess & Education

**David Levens** nominated by Andrew Farthing (MCCU) and Simon Gilmore (Derbyshire Chess Association). \*

**Traci Whitfield** nominated by Lawrence Cooper (Director), Phil Ehr (Director) and David Sedgwick (Chess in Schools and Communities) \*

#### 10.5.3 Director of International Chess

David Openshaw standing for re-election \*

## 10.5.4 Director of Membership

**David Thomas** standing for re-election

## 10.5.5 Commercial Director

Bob Kane standing for election to the post that the Board appointed him to fill \*

#### 10.6 Other Officers

#### 10.6.1 FIDE Delegate

Malcolm Pein nominated by Phil Ehr (Director) and Nigel Short (FIDE delegate) \* Stewart Reuben nominated by David Eustace (Director), Brian Smith (London Chess League), Peter Wilson (Direct Members' representative) and Adam Raoof (Bexhill Congresses, Golders Green Congresses, Hampstead Congresses, King's Place Chess Festival and Middlesex County Chess Association) \*.

## 10.7 Standing Committees

## 10.7.1 Chairman of the Finance Committee

Mike Truran standing for re-election

#### 10.7.2 Members of the Finance Committee

Ray Clark }

lan Reynolds} nominated by Mike Truran (Chairman of a Standing Committee)

#### 10.7.3 Chairman of the Governance Committee

Chris Majer standing for re-election

#### 10.7.4 Members of the Governance Committee

Mike Gunn

Richard Haddrell } nominated by Chris Majer (Chairman of a Standing

**Andrew Leadbetter** } Committee)

**David Robertson** nominated by Chris Majer (Chairman of a Standing Committee) and Phil Ehr (Director) \*

## 10.8 To appoint the Auditor

The reappointment of Goatcher Chandler will be proposed.

- 11. Awards \*
  - 11.1 To approve Andrew Farthing and John Wickham as Honorary Life Vice-Presidents.
  - 11.2 To note other ECF awards for 2014
- 12. Papers from the Governance Committee on behalf of the Board

Council is asked to note, and provide feedback on, two proposed new Regulations

- 12.1 Codes of conduct \*
- 12.2 Complaints procedure \*
- 13. Proposal by the Director of Home Chess \*

"Competitions where adjudication is possible will not be ECF-graded from 1st July 2015"

The Board does not have a collective position on this item.

- 14. Discussion item requisitioned by the Devon County Chess Association, Bristol & District Chess League, Torbay Chess League, Royal Beacon Seniors Congress and Barnstaple Chess Club for members of Council to discuss how their groups use Game Fee to help the ECF identify any problems that might need to be resolved before Game Fee can be phased out in favour of a pure membership scheme \*
- 15. The dates and locations of General Meetings in 2015

The Procedural Bye Laws require the 2015 Finance Council Meeting to be held in Birmingham and the 2015 Annual Council Meeting to be held in London.

16. Any other business as advised to the Chairman before the start of the meeting

At the conclusion of the meeting, the President's Awards will be presented to those recipients who are at the meeting.