THIS AGREEMENT is made the nineteenth day of November 2020

BETWEEN

- (1) ENGLISH CHESS FEDERATION ("ECF")
- (2) CHESS SCOTLAND ("CS")
- (3) WELSH CHESS UNION ("WCU")
- (4) IRISH CHESS UNION ("ICU")
- (5) ULSTER CHESS UNION ("UCU")
- (6) JERSEY CHESS FEDERATION ("JCF")
- (7) GUERNSEY CHESS FEDERATION ("GCF")
- (8) ISLE OF MAN CHESS ASSOCIATION ("IOMCA")

NOW IT IS HEREBY AGREED as follows:

- 1. ECF, CS, WCU, ICU, UCU, JCF, GCF and IOMCA shall recognise as British Champions the winners of the respective British Championships held at the annual congresses organised by ECF ("the Annual Congresses")
- 2. With effect from the 2018 British Championships only players who fulfil one of the following qualifications shall have the right of entry to the Championship sections of the Annual Congresses:
 - (a) British Citizenship, or
 - (b) British Overseas Territories Citizenship, or
 - (c) Citizenship of Ireland, or
 - (d) not less than one year's continuous ordinary residence in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland ending on the 30th June in the calendar year of the Championship in question, or
 - (e) not less than one year's continuous ordinary residence in Ireland ending on the 30th June in the calendar year of the Championship in question, or
 - (f) not less than one year's continuous ordinary residence in the Channel Islands ending on the $30^{\rm th}$ June in the calendar year of the Championship in question, or
 - (g) not less than one year's continuous ordinary residence in the Isle of Man ending on the $30^{\rm th}$ June in the calendar year of the Championship in question

- 3. ECF will have the right to set any qualification rules for the British Championships as it deems necessary. ECF will consult with CS, WCU, ICU, UCU, JCF, GCF and IOMCA whenever it makes significant changes to the qualification rules.
- 4. ECF will not have qualification rules that prevent the Champion player from CS, WCU, ICU, UCU, JCF, GCF and IOMCA from playing in the British Championships.
- 5. This Agreement may be terminated at any time on two year's prior written notice given by any one party to all the other parties.
- 6. This agreement may be amended with such amendments being enforceable on each of the parties by a written agreement approved by six or more of the parties.
- 7. It is agreed that the following provisions shall apply in relation to membership requirements for participants in the British Championships, the British Rapidplay Championships or the British Blitz Championships:

a. FIDE-rated sections

- (a) Players whose FIDE registration is England (ENG) must be:
 - (i) ECF Gold members in for standard play events;
 - (ii) ECF Silver members for rapid play events;
 - (iii) ECF Bronze members in blitz events
- (b) Players whose FIDE registration is Wales (WLS), Scotland (SCO), Ireland (IRL), Guernsey (GCI) or Jersey (JCI) do not need ECF membership provided that they are members of their respective Federations.
- (c) Players whose FIDE registration is with any other country must be ECF Silver members.
- (d) Where a player has no FIDE registration, they must choose a Federation, and the relevant rule of (a), (b) or (c) above will apply.

b. ECF-graded sections

- (a) Players resident in England or the Isle of Man must be ECF Silver members;
- (b) Players resident in Wales, Scotland, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Guernsey or Jersey do not need ECF membership provided that they are members of their respective Federations.
- (c) Players resident in any other country outside the British Isles must be ECF Silver members.
- 8. It is agreed that, provided that the conditions set out in Clause 7 are satisfied, the ECF will:

- (a) Submit the event for ECF grading or FIDE rating as appropriate
- (b) Not charge any Pay to Play charges in respect of the event.
- 9. For the purposes of this agreement, the phrase "British Overseas Territory" shall have the same meaning as in the British Overseas Territories Act 2002.
- 10. ECF shall have the right to tender for the British Rapidplay Championships and the British Blitz Championships.
- 11. It is agreed that the ECF shall have the authority of the parties to this agreement to enter into a contract with The British Universities Chess Association (BUCA) to agree that:
 - (a) BUCA shall be responsible for organising the British Universities' Chess Championship, which shall be open to Universities and Higher Education Institutes from within the territory of ECF, CS, ECF, CS, WCU, ICU, UCU, JCF, GCF, IOMCA and the British Overseas Territories.
 - (b) BUCA shall have the right of and be responsible for entering teams from Team Great Britain into the European Universities' Chess Championships and any other international student-based chess tournament.
- 12. ICU will be responsible for organising the Irish Universities' Chess Championship, which shall be open to Universities and Higher Education Institutes from Ireland and Northern Ireland. ICU will also be responsible for entering teams from Team Ireland into the European Universities' Chess Championships and any other international student-based chess tournaments.
- 13. Any teams or players from Northern Ireland may represent either Team Great Britain or Team Ireland in the above international student-based chess tournaments, in accordance with the current IOC rules regarding the status of Northern Ireland.
- 14. This Agreement shall be governed by English Law.

AS WITNESS whereof the hands of the duly authorised representatives of the parties the day and year first before written

SIGNED by Michael Truran On behalf of ECF

SIGNED by Andrew Howie On behalf of CS

SIGNED by Mark Adams On behalf of WCU

SIGNED by John McMorrow On behalf of ICU

SIGNED by Mark Newman On behalf of UCU

SIGNED by Louis Jouault On behalf of JCF

SIGNED by Christopher Holland On behalf of GCF

SIGNED by PP Michael Truran On behalf of IOMCA

NOTES (not part of document)

1 The drafting of 2 reflects the provisions of the British Nationality Act 1981 and British Overseas Territories Act 2002 which replaced Citizenship of the United Kingdom and Colonies with (i) British Citizenship (ii) British Overseas Territories Citizenship and (iii) British Overseas Citizenship. British Citizenship includes the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man. Under Section 3 of the British Overseas Territories Act 2002 Act certain British Overseas Territories Citizens became British Citizens in any event.

The British Overseas Territories are:

- (i) Akrotiri and Dhekelia
- (ii) Anguilla
- (iii) Bermuda*
- (iv) British Antarctic Territory
- (v) British Indian Ocean Territory
- (vi) British Virgin Islands*
- (vii) Cayman Islands
- (viii) Falkland Islands
- (ix) Gibraltar
- (x) Montserrat
- (xi) Pitcairn Islands
- (xii) Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
- (xiii) South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands
- (xiv) Turks and Caicos Islands

2 Athletes from Northern Ireland may choose to represent the British Olympic Association (BOA) team or Olympic Council of Ireland (OCI) team, as both organisations have jurisdiction over Northern Ireland.

^{*} Existing FIDE Members.