

ECF Annual General Meeting 16 October 2021 Card Vote on the Motion

Council receives and approves the Report of the Governance Committee. The figures given in this document are 251 votes in favour and 55 against, though in the meeting this was announced (provisionally) as 254 votes to 55. The cause of this discrepancy has not been ascertained

Details of how individual members voted are set out below

Article 5(1) Constituent Units

Constituent Unit	Votes	Voting by	For	Against
East Anglian Chess Union	2	John Wickham	2	
London Chess League	7	Mark Rivlin	7	
Manchester Chess Federation	4	John Reyes	4	
Midland Counties Chess Union	3	John Reyes	3	
Northern Counties Chess Union	1	Tim Wall		1
Southern Counties Chess Union	3	Mark Murrell	3	
West of England Chess Union	1	Roger Hardy		

Article 5(2) County Associations

County	Votes	Voting by	For	Against
Bedfordshire	1	Brian Valentine	1	
Berkshire	2	Paul Cooksey	2	
Buckinghamshire	2	Chairman		
Cambridgeshire	2	John Wickham	2	
Cheshire & North Wales	1	John Reyes	1	
Cleveland	2	Tim Wall		2
Cornwall	2	Robin Kneebone	2	
Cumbria	1	Tim Wall		1
Derbyshire	2	Kevin Dalley		
Devon	2	Chairman	2	
Dorset	2	John Reyes	2	
Durham	2	Tim Wall		2
Essex	3	Mark Murrell	3	
Gloucestershire	1	Nigel Hosken		
Hampshire	1	Chairman	1	
Herefordshire	1	Alan Leary	1	
Hertfordshire	4	Chris Cook	2	2
Kent	3	David Gilbert	3	
Lancashire	1	Gareth Ellis	1	
Leicestershire & Rutland	4	Paul Mottram	4	
Lincolnshire	1	Christopher Holt	1	
Merseyside	4	Gareth Ellis	4	
Middlesex	3	Rob Willmoth		
Norfolk	5	John Wickham	5	
Northamptonshire	1	Chairman	1	
Northumberland	3	Alex McFarlane	3	
Nottinghamshire	4	Tim Walker	4	
Oxfordshire	3	Mike Truran	3	



ECF Annual General Meeting 2021: Results of Card Vote 2

2

1

3

3 3

2

3

1

Shropshire	3	Nicholas Rutter
Somerset	2	Nigel Towers
Staffordshire	1	Paul Sharratt
Suffolk	2	Bob L Jones
Surrey	3	Paul Shepherd
Sussex	3	Peter Farr
Warwickshire	3	Nigel Towers
Wiltshire	1	Rob Willmoth
Worcestershire	2	Paul Sharratt
Yorkshire	3	Steve Mann

Article 5(3) Chess Leagues

League	Votes	Voting By	For	Against
4NCL	20	Mike Truran	20	
Birmingham & District League	7	Chairman	7	
Blackpool & Fylde League	1	Malcolm Peacock	1	
Bolton & District Chess League	1	Pete Kobryn		
Bournemouth & District League	2	John Reyes	2	
Bradford & District League	3	Tim Wall		3
Briant Poulter Chess League	2	Neill Cooper	2	
Bristol & District League	6	Roger Hardy		
Bronowski Trophy	1	Nick Faulks	1	
Bury & Rochdale League	1	Tim Wall		1
Cannock & District League	1	Paul Sharratt	1	
Central Lancashire League	1	Tim Wall		1
Central London League	2	Robert Stern	2	
Chess 2020	1	Peter Hornsby		
Chester & District League	2	Chairman	2	
Chiltern League	1	Nigel Dennis	1	
City Chess Association	1	Rob Willmoth		
Coventry & District League	2	Hok Chiu		
Croydon & District League	1	Nick Faulks	1	
Darlington & District League	1	Michael Siddle	1	
Dudley & District League	1	Paul Sharratt	1	
Exeter & District League	1	Chairman	1	
Hertford & District League	1	Charles Willbe		
Hillingdon & District League	1	Nigel Colter	1	
Hull & District Chess Association	3	Stephen Greep	3	
Lancaster & Morecambe League	1	Chairman	1	
Leamington & District League	2	Hok Chiu		
Leeds League	3	Steve Mann	3	
London Public Service Chess League	2	David Gilbert	2	
Mid-Sussex League	2	Peter Farr	2	
North Circular Chess League	2	Philip Staniland	2	
North East League	1	Tim Wall		1
North Essex League	2	Chris Fegan		2
North Gloucestershire Chess League	2	Nigel Hosken		
North Staffordshire League	2	Paul Sharratt	2	
Portsmouth & District League	1	Chairman	1	
South East Lancashire League	1	John Reyes	1	
South Tynedale League	1	Tim Wall		1
Southampton League	2	Chairman	2	
Southend & District League	2	Howard Grist		
Stockport Chess League	2	John Reyes	2	
Stockport Rapidplay League	1	John Reyes	1	
Surrey Border League	2	Mike Gunn	2	
Thames Valley League	3	Nigel Dennis	3	
Thanet & East Kent Chess League	2	lan Hames		



Torbay League	2	John Reyes	2
Warrington & District Chess League	1	John Reyes	1
Wirral Chess League	2	David Farley	
Wolverhampton & District Chess League	2	Paul Sharratt	2
Worcester & District League	1	Paul Sharratt	1

Article 5(4) Chess Congresses

Antone 5(4) Oness Congresses				
Congress	Votes	Voting By	For	Against
Barnet Knights	2	Rob Willmoth		2
Berks & Bucks Congress	1	Nigel Dennis	1	
Blackpool Chess Conference	2	Tim Wall		2
Bolton Easter Congress	1	Julian Clissold	1	
British Rapidplay	1	Brent Kitson		
Bury St Edmunds Congress	1	John Wickham	1	
Caplin Hastings International Congress	3	Alex McFarlane	3	
Castle Chess	1	Tony Corfe		
Central London Chess Congress	1	John Sargent		
Chess Coaching Services	2	Rob Willmoth		2
Chess in Schools and Communities	4	Chris Fegan		4
Coulsdon Chess Fellowship	9	Rob Willmoth		
Crowborough Congress	1	Peter Farr	1	
Delancey UK Schools Chess Challenge	25	Alex Longson	25	
Doncaster Congress	1	Steve Mann	1	
East Devon Chess Congress	1	Chairman	1	
Frodsham Congress	1	Pat Ridley		
Frome	1	Gerry Jepps		
Gibraltar Masters	5	Chairman		
Golders Green	4	Rob Willmoth		
Hampstead Congress	5	Rob Willmoth		
Heywood Congress	1	Tim Wall		1
Kent Junior Chess Association	3	Jo Wildman		
Kidlington Chess Tournment	1	Mike Truran	1	
King's Place Chess Festival	1	Rob Willmoth		
Leek Congress	1	Roger Edwards		
Leyland Congress	1	Chairman	1	
London Junior Chess Championships	6	Arnold Lutton	6	0
Maidenhead Juniors	2	Nigel Dennis	2	
National Chess Junior Squad	1	Marc Shaw		
Northumbria Chess Masters	1	Tim Wall		1
Northumbria Junior Chess Association	1	Tim Wall		1
Pimlico Summer Tournament	1	Robert Stern	1	
Preston Chess Congress	1	Malcolm Peacock		
Ribble Congresses	1	Julian Clissold	1	
Richmond Junior CC	3	Aga Milewska		3
Scarborough Congress	2	Alex McFarlane	2	
South Lakes Congress	1	Tim Wall		1
Southend Easter Congress	1	Gavin Hughes		
St Albans Congress	2	Ray Claret		
Stockport Rapidplay	1	John Reyes	1	
Surrey Congress	1	Paul Shepherd	1	
Wiltshire Junior Chess	1	Rob Willmoth		
Witney Rapidplay	1	Mike Truran	1	
Witney Weekend Congress	1	Mike Truran	1	



Article 5(5) Other Organisations

Organisation	Votes	Voting By	For Against
Barnstaple Chess Club	1	Jack Rudd	
Braille Chess Association	1	Gerry Walsh	
British Chess Problem Society	1	Nigel Dennis	1
British Universities' Chess Association	1	Alex Holowczak	1
Chess Arbiters' Association	1	Chairman	1
English Deaf Chess Association	1	Chairman	1
English Primary Schools Chess Association	4	Nigel Dennis	4
Friends of Chess	1	Mike Gunn	1
National Youth Chess Association	1	Nigel Dennis	1

Article 5(6) to 5(15) Votes conferred to Office Holders

Office	Votes	Voting By	For	Against
President	1	Dominic Lawson		
Chief Executive	1	Mike Truran	1	
Non-Executive Chairman	1	Julian Clissold	1	
Director of Finance	1	Adam Ashton	1	
Director of Home Chess	1	Nigel Towers	1	
Director of International Chess	1	Malcolm Pein	1	
Director of Junior Chess & Education	1	Alex Holowczak	1	
Director of Membership	1	Rob Willmoth		
Director of Women's Chess	1	Chris Fegan		1
Director of Events	1	Shohreh Bayat	1	
Non Executive Director	1	Natasha Regan	1	
Non Executive Director	1	Stephen Woodhouse	1	
Chairman of the Council	1	Michael Farthing		
Chairman of the Finance Committee	1	Nick Faulks	1	
Chairman of the Governance Committee	1	Robert Stern	1	
Trustee	1	Stephen Woodhouse	1	
Trustee	1	Isabel Keen		
Patrons	0	No current patrons		
The Past Chief Executive	1	Chris Fegan		1
The Past Chairman of Council	1	Mike Gunn	1	

Article 5(16) Direct Members Representatives

Level	Votes	Voting By	For	Against
Vice Presidents	1	Stewart Reuben	1	
Vice Presidents	1	Gerry Walsh		
Platinum	1	Adrian Elwin	1	
Platinum	1	David Eustace	1	
Gold	6	Lorin D'Costa		6
Gold	6	Rob Willmoth		
Silver	6	John Reyes	6	
Silver	6	Tim Wall		6
Bronze	6	Aga Milewska		6
Bronze	6	Chris Skulte	6	