



ECF Awards 2023

This year saw strong entries in several categories and members of the Awards committee had a particularly difficult job in agreeing the winners of some categories. The following represents citations made for the successful 2023 ECF award winners. Other than standardising fonts (where possible) and some light editing, these remain as submitted. Each nomination also had supporting evidence by a third party and many citations were supplemented by further supporting documentation. For simplicity these have not been reproduced here but all documentation submitted as a part of the nomination process was considered as a part of the nomination by members of the Awards Committee.

Each winner will receive a glass trophy, £250 to support their club or organisation (with the exception of the Presidents Awards) courtesy of the Chess Trust and be entitled to use the winner's logo.

As Chairman of the Awards committee, I would like to thank all the committee members (Julie Denning, Sarah Longson, Natasha Regan, Jack Rudd, Nigel Towers and Peter Wells), and for their hard work and the Chess Trust for its generous sponsorship of the awards scheme.

The 2023 ECF Award winners are:

President's Award for Services to Chess:

Bob Jones Rupert Jones Alex McFarlane Peter Purland Kevin Staveley

Contribution to Chess in the Community

Greenwich Peninsula Chess Club

Contribution to Junior Chess

Chris Lewis

Contribution to Women's Chess

Caroline Robson

Club of the Year

Leeds Junior Chess Club

Small Club of the Year

Ringwood Chess Club

Congress of the Year

University of Warwick

No awards were made in two categories (Contribution to Online Chess and Contribution to Accessible Chess

Stephen Greep Chairman, ECF Awards Committee (07/09/23)