English Championship History

Home Tournament Rules Entrants – Open | Women’s Previous Winners Previous Events

In 1991 Duncan Lawrie sponsored the first English Chess Championship, which was an eight-player knockout competition and was won by GM Nigel Short. The title of English Champion was then awarded to the highest placed English player/players in the British Chess Championship from 2007 to 2021.

The stand-alone English Championship was re-established in 2022, with two further English Championships to date won by Mark Hebden in 2022 and Michael Adams in 2023. The tables below show English Champions from 2007 onwards.

English Champions and winners of the Tony Miles Trophy
Title awarded to the highest placed English player in the British

2007 Stephen Gordon
2008 Keith Arkell, Stuart Conquest
2009 David Howell
2010 Michael Adams
2011 Michael Adams, Nigel Short
2012 Stephen Gordon, Gawain Jones
2013 David Howell
2014 Jonathan Hawkins, David Howell
2015 Jonathan Hawkins
2016 Michael Adams
2017 Craig Hanley, David Howell, Gawain Jones, Luke McShane
2018 Michael Adams, Luke McShane
2019 Michael Adams
2021 Nicholas Pert

Title awarded at the English Championship

2022 Mark Hebden
2023 Michael Adams

English Women’s Champions and Trophy Winners
The English Women’s Championship was established as a stand-alone competition in 2016, with winners and English Women’s Champions to date as listed in the table below

2016 Kanwal Bhatia
2017 Louise Head
2018 Kanwal Bhatia, Ingrid Lauterbach
2019 Louise Head, Katarzyna Toma
2022 Lan Yao
2023 Katarzyna Toma