ECF Coaches

ECF Accredited Coaches

The process of appointing new ECF accredited coaches is on-going. The most up-to-date list of coaches can be found here, which is updated regularly as more ECF accredited coaches are appointed. If you wish to become an ECF Accredited coach, or would like further information on becoming an ECF Accredited Coach, please contact Traci Whitfield, ECF Junior Director on director.juniorchess@englishchess.org.uk or Andrew Davies, ECF Manager of Coaches on andrew.davies@englishchess.org.uk – please head your email ‘ECF Accredited Coach’

ECF Accredited Coaches have fulfilled the following requirements —
1) They are a current member of the DBS update service or hold a satisfactory enhanced DBS certificate. After November 2015 this certificate should specify coaching with the ECF.
2) They have supplied contact details for two professional and character references to the ECF with the references subsequently obtained from the referees being to the ECF’s satisfaction. Coaches are not allowed to provide the references themselves.
3) They have supplied the Manager of Coaching with details of previous coaching or teaching experience and, if applicable, qualifications.
4) They are a current ECF member.
5) They have disclosed whether they have any criminal convictions, cautions, other legal restrictions or pending cases that might affect their suitability to work with children or vulnerable adults as per the Rehabilitation of Offenders Act 1974 (Exceptions) Order 1975
 

Use this map to zoom in on your particular area and look for coaches nearby …

Abell, Colin
16 Brampton Close, Endon, Stoke on Trent ST9 9HR Tel: 01782 502763

Adams, Phil
11 Huddersfield Road, Delph, Oldham OL3 5EG Tel: 01457 870024 Email: phil1948a@hotmail.com

Adams, Timothy
15 Athol Gardens, West Monkseaton, Whitley Bay NE25 9DN Tel: 0191 2532841 Email: atadams2007@yahoo.com

Ai, Farshad
27A Green Oak Avenue, Totley, Sheffield, South Yorkshire S17 4FT Tel: 07725 995 545 Email: farshad_ai@hotmail.com

Armstrong, Bill
6 The Heights, Leek, Staffordshire ST13 7LQ Email: wgarmstrong@aol.com

Aslett, Alec
1 Cornbunting Close, College Town, Sandhurst, Berkshire GU47 0XZ
Tel: 07930 605574 Email: ajaslett@yahoo.co.uk

Bailey, Kevin
Parkfield, Jail Lane, Biggin Hill, Kent TN16 3AX Tel: 01959 570824 Email: kevinjp.bailey51@talktalk.net

Beckett, Phillip
Brough House, Church Laneham, Retford, Nottinghamshire DN22 0NQ Tel: 01777 228360 Email: familybeckett2@aol.com

Bellin, Robert (IM)
32 Station Street, Walsall, West Midlands WS2 9JT Tel: 01922 626624 Email: robtb@btinternet.com

Besedin, Pavel
South Birmingham Chess Club, First Floor, Moseley All Service Club, 91 Church Rd, Birmingham, B19 9EA Email: besedinp@yahoo.co.uk Tel: 0785 804 0841

Bielby, Paul
30 Denham Avenue, Sunderland SR6 8HG Tel: 0191 548 7600 Email: paulbielby@btopenworld.com

Blackburn, Jonathan
Mow Cop, Stoke-on-Trent ST7 4NE Email: jonathan.blackburn1985@gmail.com

Bowers, Francis
62 Pennine Way, Gunthorpe, Peterborough, Cambridgeshire PE4 7TE Tel: 01733 579569 Email: chessbower@aol.com

Briscoe, Christopher
146 Fangrove Park, Lyne, Chertsey KT16 0BS Email: christopher_briscoe@hotmail.com

Brown, Alan
52 Great Holme Court, Thorplands, Northampton NN3 8AE Tel: 01604 648287 Email: alan.brown927@gmail.com

Brown, Michael
London Tel: 07597 928016 Email: kendalchess@hotmail.com

Buckley, Graeme (IM)
3 Forge Lane, Sutton, Surrey SM3 8SH Tel: 020 8642 5239 Email: gnbuckley@aol.com

Bukojemski, Adam
Romford Email: adambukojemski@gmail.com

Burgin, Ryan
Apt 14 Bickerton House, 47 Leppings Lane, Sheffield S6 1SY Tel: 07585 328732
Email: ryanburgin7@hotmail.com Website: www.facebook.com/rybchess

Butland, Nick
… details pending …

Butt, Michael
10 Foxhill Close, Greatfield Estate, Hull, East Yorkshire HU9 4LP Tel: 01482 793227 Email: butt1@butt1.karoo.co.uk

Ciuksyte, Dagne
Suffolk and Ipswich area
Email: dagneciu@gmail.com

Clissold, Julian
4 Vale Street, Turton Bottoms, Edgworth, Lancashire BL7 0EB Tel: 01204 852036 Email: j_clissold@btinternet.com

Cloudsdale, Peter
8 Beech Glade, Huntington, York, North Yorkshire YO31 9EP Tel: 01904-624958 Email: cloudsdale_c@hotmail.co.uk

Colburn, Paul
29 Blissett Road, Leicester LE3 9HQ Email: zoepaul@colburn23.wanadoo.co.uk

Cooper, Lawrence (IM)
Email: lozcooper@hotmail.com

Cooper, Neill
104 Westhall Road, Warlingham, Surrey CR6 9HD Tel: 01883 624051 Email: nsc@cplusc.co.uk Website: www.cchess.org.uk

Couchman, Andrew MBA
Owner/Senior coach, Axon Chess Academy
Email: axonchessacademy@gmail.com Website: www.axonchessacademy.com
Also, European Chess Union certified coach. Available UK and overseas for 1 to 1, group and online coaching

Cutter, Tim
52 Cody Road, Farnborough, Hampshire GU14 0DE Tel: 07857126924 or 01252 911683 Email: tcutter2010@googlemail.com

D’Costa, Lorin (IM)
1 Stakepiece Road, Royston, Herts SG8 9DN Tel: 07745 240000 Email: lorin_eagles@hotmail.com

Damodaran, Ashok
2 Foxglove Close, Edenbridge, Kent TN8 6DJ Tel: 01732 862 399, 079851 75674 Email: ashokmca@gmail.com

Davies, Andrew
13 Parkes Avenue, Codsall, Wolverhampton WV8 2DX Tel: 01902 845303 Email: andrew_p_davies@btopenworld.com

Davies, Nigel (IGM)
Available for seminars and private tuition via Skype. A training syllabus, video courses and contact form are at the Tiger Chess membership site – http://tigerchess.com

Dickens, Rupert
20 Belmont Grove, London SE13 5DW Email: rupert.dickens@yahoo.com

Dickerson, Trevor
10 Ridgewell Avenue, Chelmsford CM1 2GA Tel: 01245 697735 Email: trevord@mypostoffice.co.uk

Dilukshan, Manoharan
45 Sussex Road, Harrow, Middlesex HA1 4LU
Tel : 07960722404 Email : chess@christopherconsultings.com

Dragomir, Ionica
111 Clitterhouse Road, London NW2 1DL Tel: 0208 4584683 Mob: 07760 113132 Email: iodragomir@yahoo.co.uk

Edwards, Simon
Bradeley, Stoke-on-Trent ST6 7NE Tel: 07749 272656 Email: avfcfan@ntlworld.com

Eggleston, David (FM)
60 Hallgarth Street, Durham City DH1 3AY Tel: 07742127679 Email: dje567@hotmail.co.uk

Emms, John (GM)
5 Wilson Close, Hildenborough, Tonbridge, Kent TN11 9DH Tel: 01732 835323 Mob: 07716 271630 Email: gmjohnemms95@gmail.com

Flear, Glenn
6 Rue Honore Daumier, Baillargues, 34670, France Tel: 00 33 467 702545 Email: Glenn.Flear@wanadoo.fr

Forster, Michael (FM)
8 Smithbarn, Horsham, West Sussex RH136EB Tel: 07511262408 Email: mike.sussex.chess@cantab.net

Freeman, Jon
39 West Way, Harpenden, Herts AL5 4RD Tel: 01582 621927 Email: jontrudy@yahoo.co.uk Website: www.harpendenjuniorchessclub.co.uk

Freeman, Scott
84-90 Chipstead Valley Road, Coulsdon, Surrey CR5 3BA Tel: 020 8645 9586 Email: chess@ccfworld.com Website: www.ccfworld.com/Chess

Gibson, Christopher
8 Crofters Close, East Hunsbury, Northampton NN4 0BJ Tel: 07812 679089 Email: chris.a.gib@gmail.com

Gliddon, Daniel
CCF, 84-90 Chipstead Valley Road, Coulsdon, Surrey CR5 3BA Tel: 020 8645 0302 Mob: 07563 3328 216 Email: daniel@ccfworld.com

Goodwin, Ed
1 Conway Avenue, Coventry CV4 9JA Tel: 02476 462257 / 07528 611483 Email: edhgoodwin@gmail.com

Graham, Dave
93 Upper Brighton Road, Worthing, West Sussex BN14 9HZ Tel: 01903 202 029 Email: dave@dgchess.com

Green, Eliot
Mensa Meadowfields, Buerton CW3 0DF Tel: 07816 988146 Email: chess888@btinternet.com

Grigoryan, Meri
(spoken languages: English, Russian, Armenian, Danish, Czech, Polish, French)
c/o The ECF Office

Hardy, David
92 Hall Road, Ashton-under-Lyne, Lancs OL6 8QB Tel: 07974 952252 Email: davidghardy57@gmail.com

Hawkins, Jonathan
37 Palmerston Street, Consett, Co. Durham DH8 5RF Tel: 01207 590 246 Email: jonathan.hawkinz@btinternet.com

Hebden, Mark (GM)
4 Balisfire Grove, Beaumont Leys, Leicester LE4 0LT Tel: 0116 299 6913 Email: mhebden@hotmail.co.uk

Holowczak, Alex
Oldbury, West Midlands Tel: 07913 976768 Email: alexholowczak@gmail.com

Houska, Jovanka
c/o the ECF Office Email: office@englishchess.org.uk

Howell, Chris
2 Reed Drive, Royal Earlswood Park, Redhill, Surrey RH1 6TA Tel: 01737 780899 Email: chris.howell8@btinternet.com

Howell, David
Email: davidwlh@aol.com

Hunt, Adam
30 Khartoum Road, Ipswich, Suffolk IP4 4EX Email: ads59@yahoo.com

Hunt, Malcolm
Seven Pillars, Worcester Road, Clent, Worcestershire DY9 0HU Tel: 01562 701156 Mob: 07801253767 Email: malcolmhuntchess@btinternet.com

Jackson, Sheila (WGM)
3 Abbey Court, 270 Hale Lane, Edgware, Middlesex HA8 8WG Tel: 020 8238 2804 Mob: 07818 415778
Email: sjackson488@btinternet.com

James, Angus
46 The Avenue, Surbiton, Surrey KT5 8JG Email: angussjames@gmail.com Tel: 020 8390 4911

Jhooti, Rajinder
57 Orchard Avenue, Bedfont, Middlesex TW14 9RD Tel: 07769 346471 Email: j_jhooti@hotmail.com

Jones, Bob
Crofts Place, Little Saxham, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk IP29 5LE Tel: 01284 811555 Email: bobjoneschess@btinternet.com

Jones, Christopher
5 Hardwicke Lodge, Tennyson Road, Worthing, West Sussex BN11 4BU Tel: 01903 207982 or 07720813877 Email: chrisjoneschess@gmail.com

King, Daniel (GM)
28 Royal Road, Teddington, Middx. TW11 0SB Tel/Fax: 020 8404 2600 Email: dan@danielking.biz Website: www.danielking.biz

Lalic, Susan (IM, WGM)
Surrey and South London Email: suelalic@aol.com

Ledger, Andrew (IM)
101 Whirlowdale Road, Sheffield S7 2NF Tel: 07807 799252 Email: Andrew_Ledger@outlook.com

Levens, David
38 George Street, Riddings, Alfreton DE55 4BH Telephone: 01773 270806 Mobile: 07341 282048 Email: davidlevens@chesscoach.co.uk

Lloyd, Jon
58 Pembroke, Hanworth, Bracknell, Berks RG12 7RD Telephone: 01344 454000/07468 790284 Email: jonll58@btinternet.com

Longson, Sarah (née Hegarty)
77 East Avenue, Heald Green, Cheshire SK8 3BR Tel: 07786 260301 Email: sarahhegartychess@outlook.com

Mackle, Dominic
2 Bradley Road, Newton Abbott, Devon TQ12 1LT Tel: 01626 356 868 Email: dominic.mackle@talktalk.net

Makepeace, Phil
Tel: 07735 278511 Email: makepeacewithchess@gmail.com
Face to face tuition in London for adults and children of all abilities. Also available for game analysis by email. Currently particularly looking for adult students for weekday morning sessions.

Martin, Andrew (IM)
Malthouse Cottage, Hall Rd, Bramley, Surrey GU50AX Tel: 01483893965 Mobile: 07712151761 Email: a.martin2007@yahoo.co.uk

Mason, Don
Mathematics & Chess Consultant, 9 Mallaby Close, Shirley, Solihull, West Midlands B90 2PW Email: donjmason@hotmail.co.uk

McDonald, Neil (GM)
Flat 15, Ellerslie Court, Copper Beech Close, Gravesend, Kent DA12 2TN Tel: 01474 369 402 Email: neilmcdonaldgm@gmail.com

McKeown, Paul
103 Nield Road, Hayes, Middlesex UB3 1SQ Tel: 020 8756 0474 Mobile: 07833 577 451 Skype/Email: paulmckeown_dpk@hotmail.com

Messam-Sparks, Lateefah
Email: lmessamsparks@yahoo.com Tel: 07715 461347

Milner, Robert
411 Cheadle Road, Cheddleton, Leek, Staffordshire ST13 7BH Tel: 01782 550112

Niccoli, Tony
1 Poynings Way, Woodside Park, London N12 7LP Tel: 07734816436 Email: tony1n@yahoo.com

Norbury, Kenneth
102 Abbeydale Park Rise, Dore, Sheffield S17 3PF Tel: 0771 664 7065 Email: kennorbury60@hotmail.co.uk

Pert, Nick (GM)
Fleet Tel: 07786 986 489 Email: nickpert@hotmail.com

Pert, Richard
Essex Email: richpert@hotmail.com

Portman, Carl
Orchard House, Hanwell, Banbury, Oxon OX17 1HN Tel: 01295 738 001 Email: carlportman@btconnect.com

Ravikumar, Vaidyanathan
2 Manor Court, Mutton Lane, Potters Bar, Herts EN6 2AA Tel: 078 660 21057 bell135@gmail.com

Reeve, Andy
8 Berne Close, Bramhall, Stockport, Cheshire SK7 3DX Tel: 0161 439 2300 Email: akreeve@hotmail.com

Regis, David
3 Bay Trees, Kennford, Exeter, Devon EX6 7UY Tel: 01392 832530 Email: dave.regis@btinternet.com

Rendle, Thomas
99B Frithville Gardens, London W12 7JQ Email: thomasrendle365@hotmail.com

Rose, David
5 Manifold Close, Waterhouses, Stoke-on-Trent ST10 3HH Email: rosed1@st-edwards.staffs.sch.uk

Ruffle, Alan
2 Moss Pit, Stafford, Staffordshire ST17 9LE Tel: 01785 249781 Email: aa.chess@btopenworld.com

Russell, Chris
London Email: c.w.russell@hotmail.co.uk Tel: 07597 253965
Fully qualified teacher available for individual and group lessons

Sayers, Ray
Chalfont St. Peter, Buckinghamshire Tel: 07976 641926 Email: sayers-r@sky.com Website: www.bucksvoice.net/byca

Scott, Ian
Boston, Lincolnshire Email: iscott13@hotmail.co.uk

Sharples, Harry
Ringleton Gate, Woodnesborough, Sandwich, Kent CT13 0PW Tel: 01304 812985 Email: harsharp@hotmail.co.uk

Snape, Ian
The Coach House, West Common Road, Keston, Kent BR2 6AJ Tel: 020 8462 7673 Email: ian@ianlsnape.myzen.co.uk

Stewart, Noel M
Chertsey, Surrey Email: noelmstewart@btinternet.com

Stewart, T Noel
30 Upper St Paul’s Terrace, York YO24 4BP Tel: 07572682101 Email: noel338@btinternet.com

Storey, Charlie (FM)
Tel: 07719070349 Skype: FMCharlieStorey Email: Storey@MasterChess.TV Web: www.MasterChess.TV

Summerscale, Aaron
Email: chessuk@btinternet.com

Summerscale, Claire
Email: chessuk@btinternet.com

Sutcliffe, Pat
1 Firs Crescent, Harrogate, North Yorkshire HG29HT Tel: 01423 439787 Email: harrogatejuniorchessclub@gmail.com Website: www.harrogatejuniorchessclub.co.uk

Swain, John
7, Mossdale Road, Sherwood, Nottingham NG5 3GX Tel: 0115 8540034 Email: jt.swain777@gmail.com

Talbot, Mark
3 Etherley Drive, Newton-le-Willows, Merseyside WA12 8NS Email: talbot.mark@ymail.com

Taylor, Adam C (FM)
12 Trajan Close, Colchester, Essex CO4 5GE Email: adamctaylor2301@aol.co.uk Tel: 07792959607

Thomas, Nicholas (FM)
1 Williams Road, Radford Semele, Leamington Spa CV31 1UR Tel: 01926 316894 Email: athomick@hotmail.com

Trueman, Glenn
25 Bower Avenue, Stockport, Cheshire SK4 2LX Tel: 07714 429263 Email: glenntrueman@aol.com

Ukken, Somton
59 Smith Walk, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk IP33 2PL Tel: 01284 731037 Mobile: 07738257442 E-mail: somtonukken@gmail.com

Upham, John
The Lodge, 51 Prospect Road, Cove, Hampshire GU14 8NT Tel: 01252 514372 Mob: 07976 634053 Email: john.upham@zen.co.uk

Varney, Andrew
Oxford area Tel: 07786 321095 Email: AV.chess@outlook.com

Wall, Tim (FM)
7 Nixon Terrace, Blyth, Northumberland NE24 3EE
Tel: 0750 3722366 Email: timpeterwall@gmail.com Twitter: @timpeterwall Website: www.foresthallchess.org.uk
North East England. Individual and group coaching, school classes. Online lessons

Wandowicz, Kajetan
Bristol and coaching over the internet Tel: 07771141432 Email: kajetan@chesslessons.co.uk Website: www.chesslessons.co.uk

Weekes, Richard Pittman
Richard Weekes Chess Academy, 65 Burrage Place, Plumstead, London SE18 7BE Tel: 020 8854 8805 Mob: 07538 035896 Email: RWchessacademy@hotmail.co.uk

Whitfield, Traci
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffs Email: whitfielduk@aol.com

Williams, Simon
Beachcomber, Seale Lane, Seale, Farnham, Surrey GU10 1LF Tel: 01252 783825 Email: simon@gingergm.com

Willmoth, Rob
North London Tel: 07956 297329 Websites: www.chesscoachingservices.co.uk, www.barnetknights.com

Woodhams, Mason
Hastings & St Leonards Chess Club, Pelton House, 2 Cornwallis Terrace, Hastings, East Sussex TN34 1EB
Email: mason.woodhams@hastingsjuniorchess.org.uk Websites: www.hastingsjuniorchess.org.uk; www.hastingschessclub.co.uk

Wrench, John
11 Western Way, Kidderminster, Worcestershire DY11 6JF
Tel: 01562 636 105 Mobile: 07913 227402 Email: j.wrench11@gmail.com

Yangfan Zhou (IM)
Mobile: 07557980674 Email: yfchess@gmail.com

Zakarian, David (FM)
Oxford Email: davezak13@hotmail.com

Scroll Up