Chess Moves

Chess Moves
Click the image for the ECF newsletter

Recent updates

Post Calendar

April 2015
« Mar    

Nigel Short plays Kasparov again

– from David Openshaw


Starting Saturday April 25, two great chess legends, Garry Kasparov and Nigel Short, will play a ten-game match – two rapid and eight blitz – in the Chess Club and Scholastic Center of Saint Louis, rekindling the duo’s match at the 1993 World Chess Championship.
The match will comprise a total of ten games spanning over two days of play, each day featuring one game with a rapid time control, and four games with the faster blitz time control.
The entire event will be broadcast live on the US Chess Champs website at featuring live commentary and analysis from a world-renowned commentary team.
The games start at 2pm US time, 8 pm in the UK

English Schools Team Problem Solving Championship

– from Phill Beckett

The final of this  new event took place in parallel with the Team challenge Event at Imperial College. After two preliminary rounds, which were conducted by email, five schools qualified for the final (including two girls teams) and after five rounds of problems The Kings School Grantham emerged as winners. The final results were —

Kings School Grantham  70
Hampton School 61.5
Westminster School 54
The Abbey School 49.5
Portsmouth High School 19.5

The event involved a wide age range from Year 7 to Year 13 and, following this year’s success, is likely to become an annual event. The event was run by Brian Stephenson (British Chess Problem Society), who compiled all the problem rounds. The prizes were presented by Dr. Jonathan Mestel (ex-world Problem Solving Champion and 18 times British Champion)

You can download a zip file of the problems and their solutions here [2MB]

Obituary – Colin Stamford Crouch Ph.D

Colin Crouch died at home in Harrow in April 2015. He was 58, having been born in 1956 in Bushey, in Hertfordshire. He lived most of his life in Harrow and was a pupil at Haberdashers, once a chess power-house. He was a student first at Cambridge and then Durham Universities.

He won the British Under 16 Championship in 1972 with 10.5/11! In 1974 he won the Under 18. Colin was a very experienced international master with a peak International Rating this century of 2448. There are nearly 1000 of his games on ChessBase dating back to 1973; he having joined Harrow Club in 1970. He was first internationally rated, at 2300, in 1977, but he was not awarded the International Master title until 1991. Much of his chess was played in England, although he was also active in Scotland and played some events elsewhere.

He scored 7/9 in the Hastings Challengers of 1991-1992 including a very original win over Valeriy Neverov. This result qualified him to play in the Hastings Premier of 1992-3. He did not disgrace himself in a field that included Judit Polgar and Evgeny Bareev, scoring 3½/14 in this 8 powerful double round all-play-all.

Read on — Obituary – Colin Stamford Crouch Ph.D

ECF Team Chess Challenge results

The national final was held at Imperial College, London on Wednesday 22nd April. Congratulations to Manchester Grammar School who won with 5 straight wins, and 18 game points out of a maximum of 20. The winning team was Andrew Horton (234); Michael Fernandez (201); Daniel Abbas (181) and Jason Lau (174) [click below for a bigger image]

School Totals
1 Manchester GS 18; 2 RGS Newcastle 12; 3 Wilson’s School 11.5; 4 Hampton School 11.5; 5 Millfield School 11; 6 Eltham College 11; 7 Mill Hill HS 10.5; 8 Nottingham High School 10.5; 9 Magdalen College School 9.5; 10 Reserves 9.5; 11 Torquay Boys’ GS 9; 12 Westminster Under School 8; 13 KE VI Camp Hill 5; 14 Bangor GS 3

Commonwealth Chess Championship 2015 – a reminder

Commonwealth Chess Championship 2015 at New Delhi from 22-30 June 2015 at Hotel Park Plaza more details here